Thursday, August 25, 2011

The 35th Norfolklore Genealogy Fair

Simcoe is a town located in the southwestern part of Ontario, and every fall it hosts the oldest genealogy fair in Ontario – The Norfolklore Genealogy Fair.

The resource providers/exhibitors for 2011 included Colonel John Butler Branch UELAC, Elgin County OGS, Grand Erie Education Archives, Grand River Branch UELAC, Haldimand County OGS, Hamilton Branch OGS, Heronwood Enterprises, Kent County OGS, Kinfolk Finders, Log Cabin Publishing, Mayholme Foundation, Niagara Branch OGS, Norfolk Historical Society, Norfolk County OGS, Norwich and District Historical Society, Oxford County OGS, Ruthven Park National Historic Site, Waterford Townsend Historical Society.

It will be held on September 24th, and tickets will be available for $5.00, and this includes admission to both the Norfolklore Fair as well as to the Eva Brook Donly Museum and Archives where you can do some local research with volunteer help. Usual admission to the Archives is $10.00.

It will be held ay the Simcoe Seniors Centre, 89 Pond Street, Simcoe from 10 am to 4pm.

The website is

Biographical Research for Ontario Genealogists

Do you need help in learning the stories behind your ancestor's life? What was the historical events in their life at that time?

Then you need this course to help you answer the questions -

This course is for experienced genealogists who want to learn the stories behind their Ontario ancestors’ names, places and dates. Whether your ancestors were county farmers or city merchants, you can learn more about their lives using the records and techniques taught in this class. This class is ideal preparation for writing the family history book.

Schedule: Tuesdays, 6:15-8:15 PM, September 13,20, 27 and October 4, 2011 (a four week course)

Location: Toronto Reference Library, Learning Centre 1.

Instructor: Janice Nickerson

Janice is a professional genealogist based in Toronto. In addition to her private client work, she assists the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee in locating missing heirs, was the “behind the scenes” genealogical researcher and coordinator for the CBC’s genealogical TV program, Who Do You Think You Are? and is the author of the recent OGS/Dundurn publication, Crime and Punishment in Upper Canada: A Researcher’s Guide (For readers of Families, an excerpt, and review of the book was published in the February 2011 edition.)

Fee: $66 ($60 for OGS members.

Their website is at

For further information, to discuss prerequisite equivalents and to check before mailing a late application: email: or call (416) 733-2608 (voicemail)