Showing posts with label Upper Canada Genealogy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Upper Canada Genealogy. Show all posts

Friday, May 22, 2015

Canadian genealogist to present Family Tree University webinar

If you don’t know who Janice Nickerson is already, she is a professional Canadian genealogist from Toronto, Ontario who has been asked by Family Tree University to give a live, one-hour webinar called Canadian Genealogy Crash Course on Tuesday, May 26th, starting at 7 pm Eastern (6 pm Central/5 pm Mountain/4 pm Pacific).

To register for the course, go to

Janice has been doing Canadian genealogy for 30 years, so she knows her stuff.

There will be a live Q&A after the webinar, so be sure to have your questions ready!

Janice also has a website at Upper Canada Genealogy (helping you trace your Ontario roots…) at

Saturday, January 10, 2009

Aboriginal Records Requested

Researcher and writer Janice Nickerson needs help gathering illustrative examples for a soon-to-be published guide to Aboriginal genealogical research in Central and Eastern Canada.

She will pay $25 per document to anyone who can send me a copy of a civil registration, will or estate record, newspaper Item, school record, land and property record, notarial record from New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, PEI, Newfoundland and Labrador, in which an Aboriginal person is featured, preferably explicitly identified as such.

She also needs non-church documents from Quebec, and newspaper items, school records, or land and property records for Ontario.

She only needs one of each type of document for each province.

The deadline is January 25th.

Please contact Janice directly for details at, or call 416.920.2206.

She can also be contacted by mail at:

Janice Nickerson
Upper Canada Genealogy
Suite 2807, 33 Isabella Street
Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2P7